BRICS invites Saudi Arabia, Ethiopia, 4 others to join alliance

The BRICS Group has extended membership invitation to six countries – Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates – to become new members of the bloc.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa disclosed this during the ongoing 15th BRICS Summit.

Expanding membership of the BRICS bloc – which currently includes Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa – has been a key focus during a three-day summit in Johannesburg which concludes today.