FIFA Council’s decision on 2030 World Cup: A wake-up call for Nigerian football

The world football ruling body, FIFA, on Wednesday, revealed that games of the 2030 World Cup will take place in six countries across three continents, Soccernet reports.

Spain, Portugal and Morocco will be the official hosts of the tournament, but the first three games of the competition will be played in South American countries Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay.

This is in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the competition. The first edition of the World Cup took place in Uruguay in 2030, and some of FIFA’s new plans are geared towards celebrating 100 years of the World Cup.